Braun, K-Rod Win 2015 Brewers Awards

The Baseball Writers Association of America announced their annual awards for the Milwaukee Brewers on Wednesday with outfielder Ryan Braun being honored as the team’s Most Valuable Player and reliever Francisco Rodriguez taking home the award for Most Valuable Pitcher. He is a rundown of the 2015 award winners:

Most Valuable Player: Ryan Braun – After battling through injuries in 2014, Braun appeared in 140 of the Brewers 162 games this season, hitting .285 with 27 doubles, 25 home runs and 84 runs batted in. (Runner-up: Adam Lind)

Most Valuable Pitcher: Francisco Rodriguez – The 33-year-old Rodriguez made 60 relief appearances for Milwaukee, converting on 38 of 40 save opportunities. He struck out 62 batters in 57 innings of work and held opposing hitters to a .189 batting average. (Runner-up: Jeremy Jeffress)

Unsung Hero Award: Jeremy Jeffress – Jeffress saw action in 72 games out of the bullpen, second only to Will Smith. He went 5-0 with a 2.65 earned run average, striking out 67 batters in 68 innings. (Runner-up: Will Smith)

Top Newcomer Award: Adam Lind – Lind, acquired from Toronto prior to the season in exchange for pitcher Marco Estrada, appeared in a team-high 149 games, hitting .277 with 20 home runs and 87 runs batted in. (Runner-up: Taylor Jungmann)

Good Guy Award: Jonathan Lucroy – Lucroy, the winner of the Brewers Good Guy Award in 2013 and 2014, was honored with the award for the third consecutive season. He appeared in 103 games, hitting .264(Runner-up: Kyle Lohse)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s