Diaz, Woodruff Win Brewers Yearly Awards

The Brewers announced their Minor League Player and Pitcher of the Year on Tuesday with right-hander Brandon Woodruff being selected as the organization’s Pitcher of the Year and infielder Isan Diaz being honored as the Player of the Year.

Woodruff, 23, opened the season at High-A Brevard County, where he was dominant over eight starts, earning a promotion to Double-A Biloxi. In 20 outings with the Shuckers, he went 10-8 with a 3.01 earned run average, holding opposing hitters to a .211 batting average.

Diaz, 20, appeared in 135 games for Class-A Wisconsin, hitting .264 with 20 home runs and 75 runs batted in. After getting off to a slow start to the season, Diaz turned things around in June, hitting .316 and followed that up by batting .327 in the month of July while playing shortstop and second base for the Timber Rattlers.

The two players will be honored at Miller Park on Saturday evening prior to the Brewers game against the Cincinnati Reds.